Lindsey Chapman's Travel Blog


Weekday Veg

My Chilean roommate is a raw vegan chef. RAW vegan. It sounds so restricting right?

The obvious first question is, “How do you ever feel full?” His response to that was, it’s not about how much you eat, it’s about how much you absorb. Then he proceeded to prepare some of the most delicious and beautiful dishes I have ever seen or tasted. No joke. You should see our fridge. It usually contains separate piles of zucchini, carrots, onion, ginger, spinach, beet root, and tomatoes. And the freezer contains ice cubes. I have never been one to do much in the kitchen besides eat or accompany those who are cooking, but I have learned so much since I have lived here, and have been thoroughly inspired. I haven’t converted to vegan or even vegetarian for that matter, but I’ve definitely changed a few of my bad eating habits.

There are so many good reasons to be vegan or vegetarian but I’ve never made the commitment. Recently I watched a short TED talk where Graham Hill explains his samehesitation to becoming vegetarian and offers a nice compromise he calls “weekday veg.” The name is pretty self explanatory.

It’s a good place to start and it’s really easy to be a socially conscientious citizen and actually contribute to the change you’d like to see happening. I’m not ready to go vegan and give up cheese or ice cream, and I can’t say I’m even ready to give up a good hamburger once in a while, but I also can no longer ignore the alarming statistics of harmful effects from meat production. Aside from the nutritional harm, the animal cruelty involved, the enormous amount of pollution, and the insane amount of food and money that goes into feeding the livestock that feed us is simply too much to just look the other way.

One tofu salad and one veggie pasta at a time, we can make a difference.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

